Governing Body

Governing Body

The role of Governors is to oversee the strategic development of the school and to advise and support the school leadership team. Governors are tasked with supporting and challenging the headteacher and the leadership team, to monitor progress towards improvement priorities and to make decisions around staffing and the school budget. Their role is not one of day to day management of the school: that is the role of school leaders.

Our Governors come from a wide variety of backgrounds and include those appointed from the member of the local community and parent and staff Governors. As such they are volunteers who are prepared to give significant amounts of time and energy to supporting the development of the School.

Governors sit on at least one committee and this will depend on their particular area of expertise or interest.  Each committee is tasked with monitoring specific area of the work of the school and they also recommend policies to the Full Governing Body for ratification and report back on specific issues that they have discussed.

background-color:white;

Status Name Email Term of office to Committee Responsibility Attendance (2017-18)
Appointed Stephen Hurst (Chair) Chair@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 8 Oct 2019 Resources Safeguarding 14/15
Headteacher Jon Bell j.bell@swr.gloucs.sch.uk Resources 17/20
Appointed Trudi Baker tbaker.governor@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 7 Dec 2020 Learning Data, ASP(online) 12/15
Appointed Brian Cook bcook.governor@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 7 Dec 2020 Resources Data, Budget, Projects 13/14
Appointed Katy Riddington (Vice Chair) kriddington.governor@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 4 Oct 2021 Resources (Chair) SEND+LAC, Social Spaces 12/13
Appointed Anne Geers ageers.governor@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 4th Oct 2021 Learning Pupil Premium 11/12
Parent Governor Stephen Bishop sbishop.governor@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 6 Dec 2021 Learning Health & Safety 8/10
Staff Governor Peter Dillon p.dillon@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 6 Dec 2021 Learning (Chair), Resources 18/19
Staff Governor Jacqui Rymer j.rymer@swr.gloucs.sch.uk 22 Feb 2020 Learning 8/8
Appointed Vacancy
Parent Governor Vacancy
Parent Governor Vacancy

Governor Profiles and Business Interests Standing Orders for the procedural workings of the Governing Body

The Governors have developed a strategic plan for the future development and improvement of the school. This is an ambitious statement on how we will ensure that we provide a first class education for our students and work to support the local community. A copy of this can be accessed below.

SWR Strategic Plan 2015-2018