MAT Consultation

The governing body of Sir William Romney’s School made the decision on 18th July 2019 to consult with all stakeholders about joining Athelstan Multi Academy Trust (MAT). Before voting on this decision, a number of governance meetings were held where the option to join Athelstan Trust was given serious consideration. Meetings held on 16/05/19, 27/06/19 and 18/07/19 were all focused on MAT discussions.

Sir William Romney’s school continues to grow and students have enjoyed their sixth successive year of achieving a positive Progress 8 score which means that students make better progress than expected across their five years at SWR. Our total commitment to an inclusive and comprehensive education enables all students to make very good academic progress.  Working together with our students and families, we remain committed to a broad and vibrant curriculum that offers a wealth of extra-curricular opportunities for all students.  With our reputation and student population rapidly growing, our governing body have voted to formally consult with all students, parents, staff and our local community on Sir William Romney’s School joining the Athelstan trust.

The Athelstan Trust consists of three secondary schools in Wiltshire and Gloucestershire; Malmesbury School, Bradon Forest School (Purton) and The Dean Academy (Lydney). Sir William Romney’s School and Malmesbury School have a history of working together. We have always run the Model United Nations together. SWR has joined the Avon Teaching Schools Alliance and the staff are already engaged both on the board and the courses. We are less than 6 miles and only 15 minutes apart

Consultation begins on Monday 30th September and ends at 3:30pm on Monday 4th November. There are two opportunities to find out more about our proposal on Monday 14th and 21st October. Alternatively, please contact us on this email address if you have a specific enquiry: 

The following documents have been sent to all parents and the following community stakeholders:

Reverend Poppy Hughes (St.Mary’s Church)

Nikki Ind (Mayor of Tetbury)

Local primary schools have also received our consultation documents; including St.Mary’s, Avening, Nailsworth, St.Dominics, Woodchester, Horsley, Rodmarton and Leighterton primary schools. Our neighbouring secondary schools have also be sent consultation documentation; including Archway School, Deer Park School, Farmors School, Marling School and Stroud High.

The links and FAQ documents will provide more information about joining a Multi-Academy Trust (MAT):